Reviews - vittles menu list

Go to content

Main menu:

17 comments


1 2
april
2017-06-27 18:05:53
trial
Chas
2016-12-25 19:17:33
rying to find somewhere to eat on Christmas Eve at the last minute was near proving impossible.Spotted this place and were immediately warmly greeted and seated. Food was brought to us within minutes-really excellent Indian food -extremely polite, friendly and obliging staff. This is a no frills place to eat (functions as a cafe during the day) but the lack of stereotypical restaurant decor becomes irrelevant as the authentic atmosphere, excellent food and friendly service shines through.This is definitely a place that should not be judged by it's cover!
Jo
2016-11-26 18:42:36
This is my favourite place to go for tasty and authentic flavoursome Indian food in Bristol, so far. I just love their Biryanis especially with lots of gravy and the panner tikka masala. Yum. When I have gone in to collect, everyone has been so friendly. I think this place is a little gem in an otherwise bland highstreet!



Judy
2016-10-21 19:57:51
Like a similar reviewer, we live locally and had planned to visit one day. We had bought a meal deal on Groupon and visited this evening. What an absolute pleasure - we had a very warm welcome indeed. As South Indian cooking is new to us, the dishes were explained and then cooked to our individual taste. We had Dosa's, prawn biriyani, saag aloo and peshwari naan to die for. The mango lassi yoghurt drink was perfect to round off the meal.
Well done and thank you to Chef and the team- we cannot recommend you enough.
Dave
2016-10-19 21:50:26
Dave
6 stars out of 6
Always nice food and worth the short wait.
Barry C
2016-10-04 09:48:19
“Vittles Curry Nights: Authentic South Indian Cuisine at an excellent price”

Don't be put off by the "Greasy Spoon" appearance of this little cafe - the site serves bog standard English food during the day. After 6pm, however, the cafe - owned by a lovely young Keralan family - serve excellent traditional food of the region. The Dosas are light and crispy with an excellent choice of fillings and all served with traditional Sambar and coconut and tomato chutney - all freshly made. The Andhra Prawn Fry are fiery, but full of flavour and even the usual Indian takeaway type dishes, such as Madras and Korma have their own authentic Keralan flavour, thanks to plenty of curry leaves and fresh chillies.
It's a genuine shame and a surprise Vittles isn't packed every evening as you won't find a better Indian restaurant in Bristol, which is probably due to its outside appearance. I get the impression that the fry ups pay the bills and their curry nights are their labour of love.

Visited October 2016
Barry C
2016-10-04 09:45:13
Don't be put off by the "Greasy Spoon" appearance of this little cafe - the site serves bog standard English food during the day. After 6pm, however, the cafe - owned by a lovely young Keralan family - serve excellent traditional food of the region. The Dosas are light and crispy with an excellent choice of fillings and all served..
Mathew
2016-09-30 21:56:34

Delivery was rather delayed but I suspect it was because of our big order and everything was cooked fresh. The food was so delicious and we really enjoyed the Malabar Paratha - best we have had in UK so far! :
Kritika
2016-09-26 14:03:45
Awesome food!!!
Kim
2016-09-26 14:02:50
This is my favourite South Indian takeaway in Bristol. Amazing Kerala prawn curry and indlys
1 2
 
Back to content | Back to main menu